Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

Re: What Do Carers Want

Better Centrelink support.

Better inhouse assessments and case workers.

More mature staff with a broader living experience to give better more empathic and appropriate support. (Tho some young ones are great).  Lived experience can also be Life Experience and valuable.

Better management for hard pressed mental health agencies.

RELEVANT SUPPORT for Carer and loved one.

This is my first time to write anything in a forum. 

My problem and disbelief is the medical sector . My daughter (25)has finally been diagnosed with BPD etc.  we have been unable to find a GP that understands her needs and to be the moderator with her Medications. The doctor will not listen to her and will not authorise for PBS.

Then there is good old Centrelink, all the hoops and hurdles to get obtain disability assistance , it's the same story ...they can't see the disability so you don't need help!!

No wonder there are so many suicides of mentally challenged people. I as a mother and carer am scared . 

Hello @Tryingmum

welcome to the forum

Then there is good old Centrelink, all the hoops and hurdles to get obtain disability assistance , it's the same story ...they can't see the disability so you don't need help!! -- yes I totally agree,my husband with Mental illness and me with pysical illness and centrelink thinks you can still work , yes this needs to change

Transport, and more transport, the bus system in the North of Adelaide is impossible.

Hello @Over_whelmed, @VCS, @Tryingmum, @Appleblossom, @Sally

checking in to see how you all are tonight

Snding you tender hugs and remember we are here for you anytime