Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

lala2
Senior Contributor

Roller coaster

First of all, I am so grateful for this forum.  Its my first time on here and I already feel a bit better after reading some of the threads.

Im what some might say a high funtioning schizophrenic.  Had 3 big psychotic episodes that put me in hospital 2-3 months each time.  Most recent was November 2022.

I am a single mum of a 14 year old girl, we live on a large rural block with our two cats and two dogs.  I work as a special needs teacher aide 4 days a week. 

So the problem Ive recently encountered is Im so, so tired of my monthly injection roller coaster ride of energy levels.  I take the injection of a low dose medication and 6 days later I start to get a drop in energy levels, by day 7,8 and 9 Im struggling to get out of bed.  The fatigue, the jelly legs, the tiredness is so extreme, I sleep for days.  As the month goes on and the injection starts to wear off my energy starts to come back, by week 4 I feel amazing, I get so much done, I feel productive and capable..... until the next injection.  Im seeing my Dr tomorrow to ask him to put me on the same med in tablet form.  I know Im good at taking daily tablets so im not concerned about any relapses.  I know life isnt supposed to be fair but when I work so hard at being healthy and doing everything I can to keep my head above water, getting the monthly jab low is like a real kick in the guts. 

17 REPLIES 17

Re: Roller coaster