Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useful resources

Jude17
New Contributor

OCD- reassurance

Hi I’m new to Sane and grateful to have found this, 

I’ve had severe OCD anxiety and Asperger’s for over 14 years. I have medication for ADHD and OCD, recently diagnosed with ADHD this year. I use cognitive behaviour therapy (evidence based thinking), exposure therapy and self care strategies (good sleep, spending time with animals, self love, good nutrition, exercise and avoiding alcohol). 

The thing I struggle with is trying to trust my own reassurance, so I try to think logically and attempt to trust my own reassurance however I get overwhelmed with the anxiety and fear of the uncertainty, so I end up asking for reassurance. I understand this may make the rituals worse but I was wondering if there’s another way? If anyone has advice or more strategies please feel free to share 

I would love some information 😊 thank you

I’m also interested in finding a support group face to face, I would like to find a community of peer support, does sane do these regularly? I can do Telehealth if not face to face. 

4 REPLIES 4

Re: OCD- reassurance

i also have adhd struggle to trust my own decision making and looking after myself i spend alot oftime qiuet hiding in my house afraid of people coming to attack me when im not sure but i dont think there is any coming tonight atleast i worry everyday im guna get stabbed again  sorry to winge but i think your doin well

Hey @Jude17, welcome to the forums! I'm TuxedoCat, one of the peer workers here on the forums. I'm looking forward to seeing you around the forums ❤️