Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useful resources

Maggie
Community Elder

i found this helpful.

Article: Why Being a People Pleaser Damages Relationships—and What to Do About It
Are you a people pleaser? I was! In fact, growing up, I majored in pleasing others.
I honestly believed as a child and young adult that if people didn’t need me, they wouldn’t want me. So I worked at being indispensable. My pleaser habit was so deeply rooted that I didn’t know I was giving up myself on a regular basis, in every relationship at home and work. My pattern of over-giving had great benefits—or so
I thought.
People pleasers overcommit to be likedAll my relationships were one-sided: me the giver of time and favors and others happy to receive my generosity. Never did I question this imbalance in my relationships; in my mind, that was simply the way the world worked. I never said no to a request. And I was continually overcommitted, overwhelmed, feeling rushed and exhausted—and miserable.

For more information on controlling anger or how to identify feelings, head over to our course-store.

Then one day, I noticed a recurring theme in my life: resentment. What most often followed my giving was resentment. Hmm. Did over-giving equal feeling resentful? That puzzled and intrigued me, so I started watching myself to see if this was a pattern. Was there a connection?

What I discovered changed my life.

The Key to Overcoming Resentment

I tracked my feelings of resentment back to only two things:

1) my giving was disproportionate in each relationship
and always lacked a return current of reciprocity
2) who I was and what I wanted was replaced by the
needs and happiness of others—at the cost of my