Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Trauma_Scars
Casual Contributor

Newbie Here - Hello

Hi there,

I am new here and just wanted to say hi and introduce myself a little. I'm a 34 year old woman who has a wonderful husband and a mum to a 12 year old son who is my world. My family are the most important part of my life and I take a lot of pride in being a mum and hope I'm doing a good job.

Both my husband and son have Tourettes Syndrome, although our son is currently undiagnosed as his Paed wants to wait until after puberty. Our son has High Functioning Austism with Anxiety being a daily challenge. My hubby also has ADHD that he is struggling with at the moment and is questioning whether to go through diagnosis of ASD for himself (he difinitely fits the diagnosis).

I know all of that is about my boys, but it effects how our lives function and gives a little insight to some of the stressors in my life that are a constant.

Ok, my turn now....

I've struggled with Depression & Anxiety for what feels like most of my life, I did not address these issues until my mid 20's. I have a history of Self harm, which began at 14 and grew up in a family that did not talk about feelings and pushed problems under the rug. I don't remember how old I was, I think it was before I started school, when my Dad told me not to cry because it's embarrassing and I had no reason to cry because I had a roof over my head, food in my belly and other people had it way worse.