Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

nightwing81
Casual Contributor

feeling overwhelmed

hi all!

i woke up this morning feeling a bit overwhelmed. knowing that my mum is going back to the oncologist on thursday always makes me anxious. 

im also trying to make a drastic lifestyle change which makes me anxious because ive been doing the same routine for many years.

so what do you do when you feel overwhelmed?

4 REPLIES 4

Re: feeling overwhelmed

Hi @nightwing81 

Understandable that your mum's health problems would give rise to worry for you. Your own changing living circumstances could also understandably be bringing up fears, especially if you feel you have been in the same pattern for a long time.

I admit I often need to go to bed when too overwhelmed. It seems my nervous system needs a reset fairly frequently, to help calm down my overly excitable nerves. Even a short nap, or just a rest, can help me calm down. This might not be a bad idea on occasions, except I also go through periods of sleeping way too much by far.

There are other things that may be wiser: breath meditation for example (focusing on the breath, slowing it and deepening it). Even five minutes of that helps me sometimes, better if longer. Physical activities are good, of course. For me it might be walking in nature.

@nightwing81 p.s. just noticed I already suggested breath meditation on your first thread and you answered it's too hard to mentally focus. I find it like that too many times, other times it is helpful. Perhaps then I would suggest the physical activity and exercise as one way of dealing with what you are going through. That's if you don't already do that. Wishing you well.