Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

florencefifty
Senior Contributor

Looking for a new job is stressful…

I thought not having a job was stressful. Looking for a new job is frustrating every time. I’ve done it three times now, it’s officially a pattern.

I was looking for a job, and within one week, I got a verbal offer. I just had to get the reference checks done. Unfortunately, though, I don’t have any references. 

My first job, I worked in retail. Firstly, it’s a little weird asking your manager from retail to do a reference for you for the corporate world. And secondly, a lot of the managers I had no longer worked there. 

In essence, I’ve only had one manager in my life. She, from the very first day, didn’t like me and she gave me a negative reference last time I asked her to do one for me. If she gave me a neutral reference, I would have been working at a big company for months now, but she decided she wanted to rant. 

I asked both of my managers from my most recent job to write a reference for me. One of them declined and the other one left the company and I don’t know her personal e-mail.

I e-mailed one of my colleagues to ask her to do a reference for me. This is the weird thing. She was super cool, and I started the e-mail with “hi, I miss you guys so much, I hope you and the team are doing well…” and her reply was super formal. She said she had recently been promoted, and so she doesn’t have time, and it’s really a job for my manager anyway, rather than a colleague. 

GAH, why do people have to be so freaking honest?!

That’s a joke, I understand…