Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

romani12321
New Contributor

Is it anxiety?

Hi, this is my first time posting to these forums so hopefully I don't ramble too much.

I'm currently in year 12 and I suppose to an extent, it does not help that I'm under constant pressure in regards to SAC's (assessments), but recently I've been feeling as if I'm 'going crazy'.

It's hard to describe how I've been feeling other than just like everything has been out of control, and it's been at its worst over this last week. Everything really started to spiral out of control during the COVID-19 isolation period which is when I first started experiencing panic attacks. These panic attacks were horrible at first, with the primary concern being a feeling of dissociation whereby the world around me felt really hollow and 'off'. It's something I cannot describe.

I've always had problems with searching stuff up online to try and self diagnose, and I suppose it all started to spiral when I began reading about schizophrenia. I know it's highly improbably, and to this day I don't believe I am going to become schizophrenic, but there's times where I just don't know.

Sometimes I feel like I'm seeing stuff in my peripheral vision, however I am sure that this is just my anxiety overanalyzing a normal eperience. Furthermore, I sometimes find myself smelling a smell such as smoke when there is no explanation, but I also believe this can be attributed to anxiety.